What is the cost of a marriage license?
The marriage license fee is roughly $70.00 dollars, although fees may vary from county to county. Accepted forms of payment are cash, credit card, or money order.
What are the residency requirements for Maryland?
None. You do not have to be a previous or current resident of Maryland to obtain a marriage license that is valid statewide.
Is there a waiting period from the application date to the date the license is issued?
Yes, there is a mandatory 2 day waiting period. In most states, the waiting period does not include Saturdays, Sundays or holidays. In some instances, the day the application is filed is not included within the waiting period.
Is there a waiting period from the date the license is issued to the date I am allowed to marry?
No, you can marry immediately after receiving your license.
What is the minimum age a man or woman may marry?
You must be 18 years old or older to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age.
What if one or both of us is younger than 18?
If either partner is under 18, parents or legal guardians must be present. If a parent can not be present, due to death, separation, divorce or other circumstances, proper evidence must be presented for verification. You will need a certified copy of your birth certificate. If you are under 16 you can not marry without a court order. A minor who is pregnant does not need parental consent as long as the pregnancy is verified in a written statement by a licensed physician.
Are blood tests and physical exams required?
No blood test or physical exam is required.
How long does a marriage license remain valid once it's been issued?
Your license will expire 6 months from the date it is issued. Marriage Certificates never expire.
What if one or both partners have been divorced or have had a spouse die?
If previously married, the date of divorce or date of spouse's death must be provided. Bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. A copy of your divorce records or spouse's death certificate can be ordered online.
What's the process of legally changing my last name after marriage?
Following your marriage you will receive a marriage certificate, which is a piece of paper proving that you are legally married. This certificate will serve as evidence of your marriage, which you'll need when you begin the process of notifying several government agencies about your name change, as well as any non-government institutions that you do business with.
Step 1- Social Security
-bring Marriage Certificate, Birth Certificate, SS card
Step 3-Banks & Credit Cards
Step 4-Misc. (memberships, mail, employers)
Are proxy marriages legal?
No, marriage by proxy is not allowed.
Are cousin marriages legal?
Yes, cousin marriages are allowed….but gross.
Are common-law marriages legal?
No, common-law marriages are not allowed.
Are same- sex marriages legal?
YES!!! As of January 1, 2013...Yay!